Apple Dumplings – the easy way

I know you’ve seen it, the facebook and pinterist posts of apple dumplings using an apple, a tube of refrigerated crescent dough, butter, sugar, cinnamon, and get this: sprite.

Does it work? Does it not work? Why on earth am I using sprite?

The whole sprite component through me for a loop. A complete loop. Most of these recipes use mountain dew, but I HATE mountain dew. Sprite it was.

This is also half the original recipe. Why? I was testing it out.

The only reason why I’m making apple dumplings this way was because it was my anniversary and I didn’t have the time to homemade apple dumplings. That and well, I spent the day with Mumika and we ended up spending the day getting alcapurria and empanadas and drinking coffee. You know, importante boriqua stuff.

Bryan had never had apple dumplings until his dad took us to a Chinese buffet that happened to have them. I couldn’t resist having one and as usual, because I did not make these, I had to give half of it to Bryan. We have rules. They keep me alive.

“Oh my god, this is amazing!”

This is the thing though – Bryan doesn’t like pies or anything where the fruit is baked. The fact that he loved the dumplings sort of opened a new universe to me.

So I tried the – I don’t have time for that easy way.
image

Apple Dumplings

1 granny smith apple, cut into 8 wedges
1 tube of crescent dough
1/2 stick butter, melted
1/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon cinnamon
6 oz Sprite

Directions

Spray 8X8 square cake pan with cooking spray.

Pop open dough tube and wrap 1 triangle around 1 apple wedge.

Place apple wrapped dough wedge in baking dish. There should be enough room.

Mix melted butter with sugar, vanilla, and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon.

Gently pour the sugar buttery goodness over each dumpling.

Gently top each dumpling with cinnamon.

Pour the sprite into the cake pan. Be sure not to pour it on top of the dumplings. Pour it on the sides until each dumpling is surrounded by sprite.

Bake at 350 in the oven for 40 minutes.

Makes 8. Per dumpling.

OMG! OMG! Whoever thought of this was a genius!

The vanilla and the butter and the dough and the apple is phenomenal. It made my house smell like fall. Smelled so good I could taste it.

The sprite, holy fuck balls Batman, created a citrus caramelized syrup of awesomeness.

I loved how the apple wedge disintegrated into the dough.

This is perfect for Thanksgiving. Skip the pie. Make little individual apple doughy goodness instead. You could put some ice cream on top and spoon some of the left over citrus syrup on top to make the most gooey yummy happiness ever created.

I should of thought of that the second time I made it. Grrrr.

I wonder if I could make peach dumplings the same way…..hmmmm…..

 

Leave a Reply

