Greek Burgers

When Mumika called stating she was coming to town, I really didn’t know what to make her first night. I was sort of grasping at straws as I went through my list of recipes to try.

When I came across this one, I knew it would be fun and different. I like testing new things out when Mumika is around. She’s literally my guinea pig, whereas Bryan will lecture me for 30 minutes on why he doesn’t want or like fired rice for dinner.

It isn’t a true Greek burger because I used beef instead of lamb, but all the components come across as Greek.

So If you are tired of the same ole bacon cheese burger and want to try something a bit more adult, more gourmet, and more elegant, this Greek burger is definitely for you. You could even make sliders out of it as a appetizer when having company over.

Greek-Burgers-

Greek Burgers

1 pound ground meat beef
1/4 cup red onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes, drained and chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 cup feta cheese, divided
1/4 cup bread crumbs
2 1/2 tablespoons Greek Seasoning
1 bunch of spinach, torn
1/2 cup Tzatziki sauce
1 sliced tomato
1/2 sliced red onion
6 hamburger buns

Directions
Combine the meat, red onion, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic, feta cheese, bread crumbs and Greek seasoning in a mixing bowl.
Get those fingers nice and dirty until the mixture is thoroughly combined.
Form into 6 patties. Grill or pan fry over medium-high heat on each side until it ha reached the level of doneness you want.
Arrange some torn spinach leaves on the bottoms of each hamburger bun and place the patties on top.
Top with tomatoes, red onions, tzatziki sauce, and crumbled feta cheese.
Makes 6. Per Greek burger.
Bryan and Mumika loved this. I hated it. I blame the use of nutmeg in my Greek seasoning. It was all I could smell and taste.
Other than that, it was pretty amazing.
The crunchiness of the onion, the saltiness of the feta, the tomato, and the creamy tzatziki sauce created these amazing layers of flavor that enhanced all the components found in the Greek burger itself. This isn’t gourmet, it’s a masterpiece.
Only thing I would do is cook it a little extra. My first two burgers were still raw in the middle despite looking cooked on the outside. So cook it until there’s a little bit of charring on the outside. As Bryan so eloquently put it that night, “It’s not ready until it’s burnt.”
The reason why it takes so long to cook causing some charring is the amount of stuff put inside of it having to cook as well. Just something to keep in mind.
Leave a Reply

