Chicken Piccata

Chicken piccata, the Italian dish of elegance in the States. Chicken sautéed and placed onto of a bed of pasta infused with a lemon white wine sauce and capers. Sounds absolutely lovely, doesn’t it?

When Bryan and I were at the taste testing for our wedding many moons ago, the chicken piccata at our venue was amazing. But so was the chicken marsala. It was horrible having to pick between the two. Mushrooms with wine or capers with wine. And of course, I just could not serve two chicken dishes. After nearly half an hour of going back and forth we finally decided to go with the chicken piccata and all was well. It was the capers that became the deciding factor. Bryan and I love capers.

Whenever we go to an Italian restaurant and chicken piccata is on the menu, Bryan always get it. ALWAYS. And I ALWAYS have to have a bite of it.

Even though we decided to eat yummy Puerto Rican food on our anniversary, I decided that I was still going to make chicken piccata a few days later. I had found the perfect recipe about a week beforehand but when I went back to it to actually make the dish, the recipe, much to my chagrin, was gone. All there was on the post was a picture and a bloody wine pairing. Really? Seriously? What the bloody hell made you decide that hey, lets do away with the recipe and right about how amazing the bloody recipe is and how well it pairs with this white wine?!?!?! Needless to say I was furious.

The recipe I had found was the only one that was simplistic with few ingredients. I get how elegant this dish is, but I’m not going to add 15 bloody ingredients to achieve the same thing I could achieve with seven. So I rummaged through various sites, looking at pictures, reading extra carefully that it had all the ingredients I had already bought and ended up creating my own. Ok, it’s more of a hodge-podge of 17 different recipes that seemed to have roughly the same simple ingredients.

So essentially this is a lighter version and stripped down to the bare minimum. Thank god for deductive logic.

image

Chicken Piccata

8 thinly sliced chicken breasts
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
4 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup dry white wine
3/4 cup chicken broth
1 lemons
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup half and half
2 tablespoons capers, drained
chopped parsley for garnish
1 pound angel hair pasta

Directions

Prepare pasta using packaging directions until al dente. DO NOT OVERCOOK!!!!!!!!

Sprinkle salt and pepper on both sides of chicken, then dredge in flour.

Heat butter and olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.

Fry chicken breasts until golden brown on both sides. May have to do this in batches if all the chicken breast don’t fit in the skillet.

Remove chicken to a plate.

Reduce heat to medium – low and pour in wine and chicken broth, and squeeze in the juice of the lemon.

Whisk the sauce, scraping the bottom of the pan. Allow sauce to cook and bubble and thicken until reduced by about half.

Add in capers.

Reduce heat to low and pour in cream and half and half.

Whisk together and allow to cook for a couple of minute until sauce thickens.

Add in angel hair pasta and mix until well combined.

Plate be putting some of the pasta on the plate, then a piece of chicken half on the pasta, half on the actual plate, and garnish with a little bit of parsley.

Makes 8.

OMG. This is the most amazing lightest flavorful pasta I have ever made. This is better than at a restaurant. BETTER!

Did I say better, because it’s better.

The acid from the lemon, the creaminess of the creams, the tanginess from capers, and the amazing undertones of the wine come together to create pure perfection.

It is rather tangy, but I like it that way. If you don’t like capers, you can always take it out.

Some tips for first timers: don’t buy expensive dry white wine. I literally bought the cheapest bottle of chardonnay I could find at HEB and like all cheap ass wines, it was dry as fuck. Needless to say, this is now going to be the cooking wine I use when I see dry white wine as an ingredient. Also, when you pour the cream in, pour it slowly, because as the sauce thickens, it looks all curdle-y and you start freaking out over the fact that you might have actually potentially ruined something so amazing. If the sauce doesn’t thicken to your liking, add the pasta to it a little early so that it continues cooking in the sauce and therefore gobbles up all that liquid. Also, buy the thinly sliced chicken breast that way you don’t have to pound the breast down to make it thinner. Unless you’re pissed and need to let off some steam, then by all means pound that anger away.

I also decided to use one lemon instead of two because one is all I needed. I wanted a light lemon kissed flavor not a pow right in the kisser sort of flavor. Also you can use heaving cream only if you like. I had actually ran out and ended up improvising. That and I could have sworn that original recipe had half and half in it. So it’s really up to you – half and half, heavy cream, or a combo.

Either way, it will come out amazing.

Leave a Reply

