Chicken and Dumplings – the cheater’s way

My mother inlaw made chicken and dumplings while Mumika was in town. The chicken was already made so I got to watch how the dumplings were made which is where the real magic happens. Except it wasn’t magic, it was a cheat. She used refrigerated biscuit dough to make the dumplings. I wasn’t horrified, I was intrigued and thankful for learning how to do it.

And then I started craving chicken and dumplings. Which meant finding a recipe for it. And as it turned out ruined chicken and dumplings for Bryan because I went the healthy way and added carrots, onions, and celery.

Ok, I already had the carrots and celery and was looking for a way to use it up. Especially the celery – hate that stuff with a mad passion.

Only problem was, I didn’t know which biscuits to get and after calling Bryan to find out he didn’t know either, we settled on Texas style butter biscuits. Bryan doesn’t like the bitterness of the buttermilk.

Usually I would use chicken breast, but I understood how I needed that awesome flavor of the thigh to achieve the right flavor of the chicken and dumplings.

Personally I like this version of chicken and dumplings. I don’t understand what is up with southern comfort food and no vegetables. Chicken and rice has nothing of veggie value and supposedly the same goes for chicken and dumplings. What is chicken and dumplings, well just chicken and dumplings of course! So it’s broth with a roux and chicken and flour dough that gets cooked in the broth? That’s it? No one people in the south die from heart attacks.

What I love about this recipe is that you make your own chicken broth. I don’t know why, but it makes me feel accomplished even though I have chicken broth readily available in the fridge. I guess that’s why I cheated. If I made the broth from scratch then I could get away with the biscuit dough. But honestly, if you’re in a rush or have some sort f time constraint, biscuit dough is the way to go.
image

 

Chicken and Dumplings

1 tablespoon olive oil
2 1/2 pounds boneless chicken thighs
1 teaspoon salt
1  teaspoon black pepper
4 stalks celery, chopped
4 carrots, chopped
2 onions, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 cup flour
10 cups of water
1 tube of refrigerated Texas butter biscuit dough

Directions

Heat the oil in a large stock pot over medium heat.

Season chicken with 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.

Cook in batches until both sides are brown. Plate chicken and set aside.

Add the celery, carrots, onions, and garlic to the drippings in the pot and cook, stirring, until the vegetables begin to soften.

Add the chicken and water. Bring to a simmer and let it simmer for 30 minutes.

Transfer the chicken to a plate and let cool before shredding the chicken and returning it to the pot.

Whisk together the flour, 2 cups of the cooking liquid, and 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 a teaspoon pepper in a small bowl.

Slowly add the flour mixture into the pot, stir until well combined and simmer until slightly thickened.

Pop open the biscuit dough and cut each biscuit into fourths.

Slowly add the dough to the chicken broth. Put as many pieces of the dough into the broth to create a layer, let it stand there until dough gets puffy and then combined it with the broth. Do this step over and over until there is no more dough left.

Cover the pot and continue simmering for 15 minutes.

Makes 9.

So the original recipe where you make your own dumplings had 517 calories, 52 grams of carbohydrates, 6 grams of sugar, 4 grams of fiber, and 25 grams of protein.

That totally sucks. Southern comfort cuisine is definitely not for diabetics.

But on the Brightside, one bowl is enough to do you in. And the fiber count is at 4 grams too.

I loved the flavor of the broth. It was nice and inviting. Gave you this feeling of so what if my day totally sucked because my wolf got off her runner and I had to use reverse psychology to get her back, my house smelled like rotten meat because Bryan hasn’t burned trash in nearly a month making me want to throw up whenever I’m downstairs, or that I was out of Dr. Pepper, or that I had to buy insulin, and I had a migraine for two days and my midterm was finally posted and compromised of listing and defining and then sorting out 128 core competencies.

All of that melted away the minute the chicken and dumplings hit my taste buds.

But this is one of those hardly ever sort of meals because if I made this more than twice a year it would kill me.

Leave a Reply

