Caprese Toast

On cold overcast days that come out of no where due to a lot of rain, one needs to make caprese toast.

Whenever Bryan and I go to Olive Garden, he always orders the caprese flatbread and then proceeds to eat it all by himself. The only time I get a triangle is when it is minorly burnt. Which is fine. I will happily give up caprese flatbread for tiramisu.

So when one of my clients brought me fresh basil, the flatbread automatically came to mind. Only problem was, I couldn’t exactly find the flatbread I was looking for. I suppose I could have used Naan, but it is just way too expensive.

French bread, however, is cheap. So French bread it was. Life, after all, is all about improvising.

capresetoast

Caprese Toast

4 slices of French bread
half tomato, chopped
4 basil leaves, torn
1 cup mozzarella, divided

Directions

Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray.

Place slices of bread on cookie sheet.

1/4 cup of mozzarella goes on each slice. Sprinkle half of the 1/4 cup of mozzarella on the each bread slice.

Place a few pieces of diced tomato evenly on top of the mozzarella.

Place the torn pieces of basil on top of the tomatoes and cheese.

Sprinkle the rest of the cheese on top of the bread slice.

Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes.

Makes 8. Per 1/2 slice.

I love this. I absolutely love this. Everything is perfect. The bubbly cheese, the diced tomatoes, the fresh basil.

If you want to take this one step further. Diced the tomatoes ahead of time and put in a bowl with the torn basil. Let it sit in the fridge for an hour before placing it on the bread. This allows those awesome juices to mingle creating vibrant flavor.

In a way, this is sort of a drier version of bruschetta.

Leave a Reply

