Caramel Coffee

The great thing about this coffee is that it tastes just as good hot as it does iced.

With that being said, I’ll probably write the ice coffee version of this when it’s warmer outside. A cold front came on Halloween and now it’s barely lukewarm outside. I wouldn’t actually be complaining about this cold front if it wasn’t like 80 outside the day before. These little cold snaps ruin my body and makes my want to stab things.

So what did I do to warm up, with my newly founded caramel awesome sauce in hand?

Made coffee.

I had to. And it was so worth it.

I did use my keurig, which makes life easier.  I also used the k-cup I bought that was on sale. $4.50 for a 12 pack is a steal. And all of HEB coffees are Texan themed. They had a Houston blend that I had to get my hands on. It has hints of pecan praline and coconut in it. How could I say no to it, it sounds heavenly. Add caramel, some milk or cream, a spray of whipped cream, and a drizzle of caramel and I warmed right up.

 

caramel coffee

Caramel Coffee

10 oz hot coffee
2 oz cream
1 tablespoon caramel sauce
spray of whipped cream
a drizzle of caramel sauce

Direction

At the bottom of the mug, pour the 1 tablespoon of caramel.

Pour the hot coffee over the caramel and stir until you can feel the caramel dissolve. Usually the bottom of the mug is not sticky at all when this happens.

Pour in the cream and stir until well combined.

Spray the whipped cream on top and add a light drizzle of caramel.

Makes 1.

You probably noticed there isn’t any added sugar to it. Why? That’s what the caramel is for. What is caramel primarily made of? Sugar. So why would I add more sugar on top of that. That’s why some of these coffee places are so sickenly sweet. They do like three pumps of caramel syrup and 1 pump of simple syrup. Why add extra sugar. The whole thing technically has sugar in it. The caramel. The whipped cream. The whipped cream melts into the coffee making it even sweeter.

Is this diabetic friendly, depends on how much whipped cream spray and how much caramel is drizzled on it. This, however, is definitely not a coffee you can drink everyday. Maybe once a week and definitely on those days that murphy’s law seems to have gone into effect.

However, this is way cheaper than Starbucks and other coffee places. Yay saving money!

 

 

Leave a Reply

