Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas

 

Whenever I’m not too sure what we are gong to have for dinner, depending on my mood, fajitas are always an option. Bryan is usually always up for it when I bring it up.

On my birthday, we celebrated it with steak fajitas and mimosas.

Bryan didn’t feel like grilling, I didn’t feel like putting it on the skillet…..hm….why not the oven? I’ve seen the whole oven fajita posts on facebook make it’s three month cycle again. As a looked at this recipe, I realized it didn’t need the tomatoes with the green chilies, or a few other stupid ingredients. I mean, it’s onion, bell pepper, and chicken seasoned in fajita seasoning. Why am I adding this crap.

So I did it my way.

oven chicken fajitas

Oven Baked Fajitas

7 boneless chicken thighs, sliced into strips
Fajita seasoning
bell pepper, julienne
onion, halved and sliced

Direction

In a medium bowl, mix fajita seasoning with the chicken. Put into fridge for 30 minutes.

In a 9X13 baking dish, lay down the onion, then the bell peppers over the onions and the chicken on top of the bell pepper and onions.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Makes 15. Per Fajita.

This came out more amazing than I thought I would. The spices brought the heat, the pepper and onions tasted perfect. I think it was because the veggies were pretty much cooked in the juices of the chicken as it cooked.

I decided on chicken thighs instead of chicken breast, because I wanted more flavor. And I was not disappointed.

The best part is how easy it is to make. Layer, pop it in the oven, let it cook and your done. You don’t even miss the grilled flavor because the fajita seasoning is everywhere. As you wait, you can set up the fajita station with the all the yummy add ins.

And of course, we had to eat it on a flour tortilla with cheese, tomato, and avocado.

 

 

Leave a Reply

