Roasted Potato, Asparagus, Onion, and Bacon

I’m horrible at sides, we all know this. Most of my food comes in casserole or one pot sort of meal form. It’s just easier that way. Not much to think about, no stressing over what kind a flavors mesh well together, and what have you.

I have no clue how I came up with this side. Actually, that’s a lie. I do know. I sort of used thanksgiving dinner as my inspiration. Stuffing and bacon and potatoes and asparagus. However, it didn’t look holiday-y at all.

Besides, it sounded phenomenal in my head and usually it comes out the way I imagined it.

image

Roasted Potato, Asparagus, Onion, and Bacon

3 potatoes, diced
1 1/2 pounds of asparagus, cut into thirds, only use top two sections
1/2 onion, sliced
3 stripes of bacon chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil

Directions

In a small mixing bowl, mix potatoes and olive oil until well combined.

Place potatoes on a cookie sheet.

Layer asparagus, onion, and bacon over potatoes.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until veggies are nice and roasted.

Makes 6.

You might want to add a little bit a salt. I forgot the salt because I don’t really cook with it.

Everything came together so well. This would be a great side to any holiday dinner. It has everything you need and a healthier form. The potatoes are roasted instead of mashed with cream, milk, cream cheese, or mayo of some sort. There’s asparagus. There’s oven roasted nearly caramelized onions. And then you sprinkle a little bit of bacon on top so the fat gets cooked into everything.

Which is why I didn’t add salt. The saltiness of the bacon should have been enough. But then I realized, you always ALWAYS have to sprinkle a little bit of salt on potatoes to get that awesome flavor we all love to come out. Or else it tastes bland.

And on top of that, it looks colorful with the pops of green and red.

Leave a Reply

