Caramel Apple Pancakes

For some odd reason my apple praline pancakes transformed into caramel apple pancakes. Not that I have a problem with this. I just don’t remember how it happened. Oh right, had walnuts and not pecans.

No big deal, just a minor snafu. But I’m quick on my feet.

And then I lost the baking soda. It was in the fridge which didn’t occur to me until 10 minutes had gone by and I finally decided to ask Bryan where it was. Not exactly my finest moment.

We are really more waffle people but Kim loves pancakes, so I decided to make pancakes. Bryan was teasing me the whole time over the use of apples in a pancake. What’s wrong with apples? People use strawberries, chocolate, blueberry, lemon, and other fruits. So why not apples?

At first, Bryan didn’t want one, then he did, then he did if only there was maple syrup. He was like a little 5 year old. When I told him to look for the maple syrup he replied that he didn’t know how. Which is Bryanese for you find it. Needless to say, when I did find the maple syrup, I threw it at him. Sometimes his precociousness is too much and I want to stab him with a plastic fork.

This is why I cook. To stop me from murdering my husband and as a reward for sparing his life, we get to eat something yummy. It’s a win-win in my book.

image

Caramel Apple Pancakes

Dry Mix
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 table­spoons sugar
1 tea­spoon bak­ing powder
1 tea­spoon bak­ing soda
1 tea­spoon ground cinnamon
1/4 tea­spoon salt

Wet Mix
1 cup milk
1 large egg
2 table­spoons but­ter, melted
1 tea­spoon vanilla extract
1 cup apple, peeled and grated

2 tablespoons Caramel sauce
2 tablespoons walnuts, chopped

Directions

In a large mixing bowl combine dry ingredients.

In a small bowl, mix milk with cooled butter.

Add egg, vanilla, and apple into the small bowl and mix wet ingredients until well combined.

Add wet mix to dry mix and stir until well combined. There will be lumps.

Add caramel and walnuts to the batter.

Heat a griddle or a skillet. Spray with cooking spray and pour 1/6 of the batter onto the griddle/skillet.

Cook on one side until you see the top portion of the pancake bubble and become puffy. Flip and continue cooking.

Pour extra caramel sauce on top of pancakes if you want.

Makes 6.

It tasted pretty amazing. Kind of like a donut. One of those cake donuts.

One was definitely enough.

My only tip is to make sure you grate the apple instead of chopping it. This way apple is everywhere and not over here and a little over there. That and it’s frustrating to bite into when there’s chunks of apples.

Leave a Reply

