Caprese Chicken

Let me first say that you will need to pans. I know, I was frustrated to. Two stupid pans. Bleh.

But the house smelled phenomenal while I was cooking, so it made the whole dirty two pans worth it. That and even though it sounds all fancy, it is so easy and quick to make, you blink and all of a sudden it’s done. I like those quick fix meals where I take a break from studying only to find that it’s 530PM and I’m pretty sure Bryan will be home in half an hour and I haven’t even remotely started on anything. And then I get into a bad mood because of it. I mean seriously, who has you read 5 chapters from 3 different books? Graduate school, you are cramping my cooking.

In the middle of slicing the grape tomatoes I realize, wait, this will literally take me like 20 minutes to put together. I’m okay. It’s all good. As long as I look like I’ve been cooking for a long time and the food looks like it’s about to  done, Bryan won’t say anything. He’ll come home, howl with the puppies (we are in the process of teaching Akira how to howl), take his boots and clothes off, and go to the bathroom. That gives me roughly 30 minutes to finish whatever I’m working on. It’s sad that I know this routine all too well.

image

Caprese Chicken

6 skinless thinly cut chicken breasts
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
3 large garlic cloves, chopped
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
2 tablespoons basil
6 slices of mozzarella
balsamic vinegar (optional)

Directions

Salt and pepper both sides of the chicken breasts.

In a skillet over medium heat, warm 1 tablespoon olive oil.

Add chicken, cover pan, and cook until no longer pink in the middle.

While chicken is cooking, in a medium pan over medium heat, warm remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil.

Add garlic and cook until fragrant.

Add tomatoes and continue sautéing until tomatoes skin starts to soften/wrinkle.

Remove from heat and stir in basil. Set aside.

Once chicken has reached desired doneness, top the tops of each chicken breast with 1 slice of mozzarella.

Pour tomato mixture on top.

Cover pan with lid once more and let the mozzarella melt.

Drizzle balsamic vinegar lightly on top if you want.

Makes 6.

OMG. OMG. OMG.

This is AMAZEBALLS!

Everything is perfect.

PERFECT.

The mozzarella, the tomatoes, the basil, the garlic, the chicken.

And it actually tastes better without the balsamic vinegar.

I should of made pasta to go with this, but whatever. That’s what next time is for.

So if you have company and you want to impress them with amazing flavorful vibrant no processed meal. Make this. It wont disappoint. It hardly takes anytime and it will taste like it took hours to develop these flavors. That and your kitchen will smell yummy. Who can say no to that?

This is definitely one of those go – to meals.

Leave a Reply

