Watermelon, Feta, and Mint Salad

We had watermelon leftover from the margaritas. I had bought mint that we ended up never using. I found feta in my fridge which I have no clue where it came from but it was there saying, “Use me, use me.”

I find seasonal salads completely overrated. Who decided you can only have a watermelon, feta and mint salad in the summer? Or a strawberry spinach candied walnut salad in the spring? Or something with butternut squash during the fall? And it’s so bloody cold in the winter that no one in their right mind wakes up and says, “Oh, today would be a perfect day for salad!” They don’t. They are thinking, blimey, it’s bloody freezing outside, my coffee warmth is going to where off soon, let me go make some soup to warm my insides up.

image

Watermelon, Feta, and Mint Salad

3 cups watermelon, cubed or balled
4 oz feta, crumbled
3 mint leaves, torn

Directions

In a medium bowl, gently combined ingredients.

Made 6.

I really didn’t think these flavors would work. I thought it would come out horrible.

But it didn’t. The flavors meshed so well that you forget exactly what combination of food you’re eating.

The mintiness, the saltiness, and the pop of sweetness.

It was amazing.

I would definitely have this as a side salad at a picnic. Or as an appetizer. Or a snack. Or an elegant side for a brunch.

Leave a Reply

