Chicken and Waffles with Maple Gravy

You should have seen this coming. But if you didn’t, that’s okay.

I was first introduced to chicken and waffles at the Grand Lux Café in the Venetian in Las Vegas in 2006. It was late at night, I didn’t want to ruin my buzz so I ended up drinking grand mariner on the rocks like a little douchbagess that I am. You know, when you look cooler than you actually are but don’t give a flying fuck about it. I’ve done that several times since then but most people refer to it as being a cold hearted bitch. Which I feel is overkill and an insult of passion.

Then I started hearing about chicken and waffles everywhere and I finally decided it was time to try it…nearly 8 years later.

I’m a white Hispanic, chicken and waffles do not sound appetizing, fried pork with monfongo and a poached egg on top sounds better to me. Actually, that sounds really good. Why have I not thought of that yet. Be an awesome brunch idea….wait where was I?

Since Bryan had the waffle iron out, and I happened to have some chicken left over, I felt sure why not. Let’s see what all the fuss is about. This whole chicken and waffles phenomenon that is typically seen at fried chicken places whose main clientele are the blacks.

I sort of feel like this is one of those random food mistakes turned into genius.

“Got get some food, honey.”
“But Mama, all we have is frozen fried chicken and frozen waffles.”
“Then it looks like you’re having chicken and waffles for dinner today, honey.”

I could have gotten more racist with this conversation, but felt like it would be doing a disservice to the hard working blacks out there trying to law abiding citizens.

I also decided to make a maple gravy to tie in the fried chicken and the waffles. Because just chicken and waffles would be too dry and no self-respecting black person would let that happen. They would add gravy. And not just any gravy, maple gravy. Perfection.

image

Chicken and Waffles with Maple Gravy

Fried Chicken
Waffles

MAPLE GRAVY
3 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons Gold flour
1 3/4 cups chicken stock
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 cup pure maple syrup

Directions

Melt butter in saucepan.

Add flour and cook for 2 minutes.

Whisk in chicken stock and bring to boil.

Stir in Maple syrup and bring down to a simmer until gravy thickens.

Add salt and pepper.

Makes 6. Per Chicken and Waffle with Maple Gravy.

Dear Black dude that came up with this amazing combination – Thank you. I get it now. I didn’t get it before, but I get it now.

Originally I thought, eh. But then I tried a bite with the waffle, and the chicken, with a little bit of the gravy and everything became clear. Genius. Absolute genius.

It’s like a fried chicken sandwich that is appropriate for both breakfast and dinner. Why not have fried chicken with waffles for breakfast, or waffles with fried chicken for dinner? There’s nothing wrong with that. If anything, it’s full of innovation. Even better, it can be a late night snack after the bar. Instead of a T-bone and eggs with a side of pancakes, chicken and waffles.

And the maple gravy makes it. It really does. Ties everything up, crosses the t’s and dots the i’s.

Or else it would choke you to death and no one wants to die from such scrumptious yumminess.

Could even be cute as an appetizer of sorts…..hmmmm…..

Leave a Reply

