Zesty Beef Udon

When I brought up this recipe to Bryan, he asked for udon instead of ramen, which I was perfectly okay with. I really don’t like ramen. At all.

It also took me about 3 days to build up to making this dinner. I had bought all the ingredients after losing my list only to come home and realize I had forgotten something. The next day, Bryan and I had a lovely go out and go where ever the car takes us day. The car did not take us to a grocery store to buy the missing ingredient.

So I’m on day three when I finally make it.

Sometimes life does not make time to allow you to cook dinner.

image

Zesty Beef Udon

1 pound ground beef
1 green pepper, chopped
2 cups corn
1 can of tomatoes with green chilies, mild
1/2 cup Zesty Italian Dressing
1/2 onion, sliced
1 garlic clove, chopped
3 (7oz) packages of udon
1 cup  shredded cheddar cheese

Direction

Brown ground beef skillet. Drain fat.

Add Ro-tel, corn, pepper, onion, and garlic to skillet and cook until veggies are tender.

Add udon and Italian dressing and mix until well combined. Cook for 5 minutes.

Mix in cheese and stir until cheese melts.

Makes 6.

I know the flavor profile sounds weird and a potheads take on udon noodles at like 3AM, but it tastes better than it sounds.

When I was making it, it sort of reminded me of the ramen my father in law cooks when his wife is at temple all day and it’s every man for himself. Out comes the ramen with the meat and various vegetables they have.

It’s one of those crazy “oh let’s throw in this and that and all the other together and pray to the food gods that it comes out edible.” When in reality, it comes out phenomenal and you start wondering if maybe you should go on the TV show Chopped to show the world (or the very least North America) you’re amazing self taught culinary skills developed in your very own kitchen.

Yep. You’re pretty awesome, aren’t you?

 

Leave a Reply

