Chicken Teriyaki Stir Fry

Some weeks, I go on a cuisine kick. One of those, all I want is this specific food from this specific region of land in the world, sort of kicks. ANd so then I end up making Chinese, or Mexican, or Puerto Rican (But can you blame me on the Puerto Rican food, I mean, seriously) or Italian, or Thai for like a week. Which isn’t that bad, because in reality, it’s only like 3 meals. Maybe 2, if it makes a lot and if I can stop Bryan from eating like half of it. The man will go back for thirds and fourths, if I let him.

So, obviously, I’m on an Asian kick. My plan is to be able to make every single Asian dish Bryan and I like, like a good OMG this is better than take out, why are we even going to a Chinese place when I can make it here, sort of dish. That way I’m not paying $7.89 or something for a dish and $3.99 for potstickers or crab ragoon or beef sticks or something. Because honestly, that little side of rice in the separate Chinese takeout box is pointless when I have a rice cooker that can make more than that while I go 20 minutes into two towns over to get the food and bring it back home.

I’m a thinker.

Why pay for food when you can learn how to make it in the comfort of your own home and it can last for like 2 whole meals with a husband that eats himself until he’s stuffed.

When I decided to make chicken teriyaki (which could become beef teriyaki quite easily), I realized I didn’t want to meat and rice version. I wanted the mall version that you can get at every mall in the States that comes with the vegetables. Because essentially, that’s a real meal. Meat and rice, although in the south is considered a real meal, is not a real meal. And I know what you’re thinking, “Just go to the store and get teriyaki sauce.” Um, no. That’s not real teriyaki sauce, that is processed shit attempting to claim it is teriyaki sauce. How do I know? Because I have it in the house and I hate it with a made passion on only use it as a marinade for roasts and what have you. I want the real stuff, that perfect salty, sour, sweet concoction that Asian places charge $15.99 that melts into your mouth and tickle your taste buds in pure jubilee. I have bloody expectations, damnit!

chickentery

Chicken Teriyaki Stir Fry

1 1/2 pounds of boneless chicken breast, chopped into bite sized pieces
8oz bag of frozen broccoli
12 oz bag of frozen sugar snap peas, onion, carrot, and pepper mix
1 teaspoon ground ginger

TERIYAKI SAUCE

3/4 cup LOW SODIUM soy sauce
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 small garlic clove, minced fine
2 tablespoons corn starch
2 tablespoons cold water

Directions

In a large skillet, cook chicken until no longer pink in the middle.

Add ground ginger, broccoli and sugar snap pea mix to skillet and cook until veggies are tender. You may want to cover the skillet to steam the veggies.

In a sauce container, mix cornstarch and water until a smooth watery paste emerges.

In a small bowl mix the soy sauce, water, brown sugar, honey, ginger, sesame oil, garlic, and cornstarch paste until well combined.

Pour the teriyaki sauce over the chicken and veggies in skillet.

Stir and cook until the teriyaki sauce has coated every part of the chicken and veggies.

Makes 8.

Serve with hot rice. Or noodles. Oh, noodles! Oh I totally have to do that with the beef teriyaki next time. It’ll be like beef teriyaki with soba noodles or something. Hmmm…..sounds yummy already.

So remember my rant on the sauce and how the premade version sucks big ass monkey ball (because it does). Yeah, this homemade teriyaki sauce will blow your socks off. It is literally the very same sauce you pay extra for. And now you can make it in your own home. Bottle it up to use at a later day. Man, I should have done that. Made extra to have for next time. Be great as a dipping sauce. Add some sesame seeds and scallions. Damnit, why do I think of these things later?!?!?

The sauce makes the whole dish. It really does. And as you eat it with rice or noodles or whatever, your taste buds will be thanking you for this amazing yumminess.

Everything tasted perfect. Although I must admit, I thought for sure there would be a splash of pineapple juice somewhere. Maybe I’ll try that with the beef version.

Leave a Reply

