Mexican Chocolate Bars

Bryan has been talking about brownies for roughly three days. ‘Oh, I want brownies’, ‘Brownies sound absolutely amazing right now’, and ‘Man, I could sure eat some brownies right now.’

This is my life. My marital life. My husband trying to convince me to make brownies. And it took me three days to break down and make him some. I knew he wanted something super moist but every recipe I found required a chocolate bar, which I could have sworn we did not have. Needless to say, I found a bar while the brownies were baking. Notice how I wrote brownies and not bars. There’s a story and I am slowly getting there.

So I decided to make the chocolate goodness without the chocolate bar and I happened to add cinnamon.

They smelled amazing. But when I gave Bryan the brownie he looks at it and says, “These are not brownies.”

Originally I was all, “You wanted brownies, I made you brownies. How are these not brownies?”

But then I saw his point. Somehow these “brownies” became like pound cake.

Also, I had added cinnamon to them and Mexican chocolate is known for it’s chocolate with hints of cinnamon and notes of vanilla. Hence the name change.

Unfortunately, Bryan still wants brownies. And not the fluffy cake kind, the gooey falls apart in your hand kind. Maybe next week.
image

Mexican Chocolate Bars

3/4 cup all purpose flour
3 large eggs
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
2 tablespoon cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup granulated white sugar
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Direction

Line a 9×9 inch pan with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, stir together flour, cocoa powder, and salt; set aside.

In a small bowl, combine the melted butter and both sugars.

Whisk in the eggs and vanilla until fully combined.

Add flour mixture to batter and stir just until combined.

Stir in chocolate chips and ground cinnamon.

Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake for 20 minutes.

Makes 16.

Bryan claimed these bars were edible. I, however, thought they came out pretty amazing.

I wasn’t sure about the hint of cinnamon I had added but it really came through in a rather wonderful way.

Add the pockets of melted chocolate thanks to the chocolate chips, and these bars are damn near heavenly. Pair it with some milk or hot chocolate on a cold rainy or wintery night and you have one magical evening.

 

 

Leave a Reply

