The Family Thanx

Today, Bryan’s family came together and celebrated Thanksgiving.

Why is it happening roughly 5 days before actual Thanksgiving? I have no clue. But it did.

It started with Bryan’s sister coming into town and wanting to do a nice dinner or thanksgiving like dinner. When Bryan’s mom told me, I decided we could do my thanksgiving menu because Bryan had decided that we were not going to do it. So I offered my menu and told my mother in law that if they bought the ingredients, I would cook the meal, or at least the sides.

Needless to say, a day later it became Thanksgiving dinner and I was cooking for like 15 people. I have never cooked for soo many people. When putting the list together, I had to remember I was cooking for normal people and not diabetics so the proportions were going to be bigger. I ended up tripling the recipes because too much food is better than not enough.

To be honest, I was a little angry about this. I’m in graduate school, I have 4 treatment plans, a youtube video, and two 15 paged papers by December 5th. I don’t really have time to cook dinner for 15 people, and yet I accept the responsibility that I volunteered and this is what happens. It also doesn’t help that I had to scrap a paper and start from scratch.

I think the thing that gets to me the most is that it takes Bryan’s family weeks to figure out the date for their family Christmas but within a day, everyone is able to make it to this dinner.

So yesterday, I cooked for three hours. I even changed the recipes to make sure one of my sister in laws could eat everything. She’s breastfeeding and her son is allergic to dairy and eggs.

And then today, I get a migraine.

To make matters worse, Bryan was dragging his feet and his parents called twice wondering when I was going to come over and finishing cooking. I knew what the first time meant, it meant hey the turkey and ham is done, we’re ready. The second time was hey we’re hungry and tired of waiting.

Then when I go to pop the sides in the oven, there’s rolls baking in there.

Time for Michelle to take something for the migraine because I’m definitely in a bad mood.

But everything came together, people ate, enjoyed their food, and all was well.

I don’t think I’m ever going to volunteer for this again.
I really need to stop being so kind.

 

Leave a Reply

