Pecan Pie Bark

Much to my surprise, no one brought a dessert with them. Someone always brings a dessert. Good think I had dessert covered.

I actually did a test batch at my house before making it at my mother in laws. I wanted to see if I could reduce the amount of sugar and butter without ruining the consistency of it. That and I wanted to know if I could use parchment paper. I ended up ruining the batch and having to take all the pecans and stirring it into extra butter so that it would adhere to the graham crackers. Even with the extra butter, the sugar didn’t melt down and cause the pecans to solidify. I was absolutely livid. And it only made half a batch.

So I figured I would do everything based on the directions. The full cup of sugar, the two sticks of butter. And guess what?!?!?! Still didn’t work. There is something inherently wrong with this recipe that has not been brought up in the dozens of recipe sites I found this on. Also, there isn’t enough pecans to cover the 12 sheets of graham cracker. I ended up using 2 cups of pecans. Maybe I used too many pecans the second time, who knows? I would have done a third batch but pecans are too expensive to be used on a fucked up recipe.

You have been warned.

pecanpiebark

Pecan Pie Bark

2 cups pecans
1 cup sugar
2 sticks butter
12 sheets of graham crackers

Directions

Place graham crackers on a lightly sprayed cookie sheet.

Melt butter slightly in a saucepan.

Add sugar and pecans, stirring as the sugar and butter melt.

Keep stirring until the mixture starts boiling.

Pour pecan mixture slowly onto the graham crackers.

Spread the sugar and pecans evenly on the graham crackers.

Pop the bark in the oven at 325 for 8 minutes.

Let bark cool down before breaking it apart.

Makes 24 squares. Per square.

Even though I cheated on the pecan pie bark, it actually tasted like pecan pie.

I figured this would be les carbs than an actual pecan pie with the same taste. Maybe next time I’ll make pecan pie bars since this really didn’t work out the way I wanted it to.

But if your in a pinch and happen to have pecans, butter, sugar, and graham crackers on you, at least you know something yummy and tasty that can be whipped up in under 10 minutes.

Also, the first batch I made, I did it based on the instructions and felt that tossing the butter, sugar, and pecans together and melting everything at the same time could have also ruined the consistency I was supposed to have. When I made the second batch, I melted the butter slightly so that the sugar would not burn before the butter had melted. I had gotten lumps of sugar on the pecans the first time, and despite me redoing it by adding extra butter, there were still clumps of sugar. I don’t know if that has something to do with the molecular structure of sugar. But I didn’t have this issue in the second batch.

on the bright side, there was no use of corn syrup/

Leave a Reply

