The Christmas Menu

Now that Thanksgiving is behind us and I have a little more time on my hands, I’ve been pondering the Christmas Menu.

Last year Bryan had been talking about cooking a brisket in the weeks leading up to Christmas. But then his sister decided to do the same thing and happened to invite us to her dinner. I’ll be honest, I was a little frustrated and felt it took the wind out of Bryan’s sails. However, it did save him from cooking all night and he had started complaining about the prices of the brisket he found. So maybe it was a good thing.

This year is different.

This year, he will be cooking a brisket. And it will be yummy.

I was also thinking about doing chicken BBQ kabobs. It just sounds amazing.

So, I’ve figured out the protein, which is the easy part. Now I had to come up with the sides. Bryan’s sister made her Christmas spread Texas BBQ themed with the potato salad, the cornbread, peach cobbler (I think) and broccoli with this rancid cheese sauce. This really irked me because it’s Christmas, you can do Texas BBQ any time of the year. I would have thought she would have done a few Christmas inspired sides or something. Which is why this menu is so hard. What goes well with brisket that doesn’t involve mayonnaise, chilled sides, or steamed greens?

The Christmas Menu

MAIN
Brisket
Honey Porter Glazed Chicken Skewers
Asparagus Bacon Bundles
Cheesy red potatoes
Garden Spinach Souffle
Panzanella
Texas Roadhouse Rolls

DESSERT
Chocolate Mousse Cake
Trifle

DRINK
Bellini’s

Oh it sounds so yummy, I can’t wait for Christmas now.

And the family Christmas is on the 27th, so there will be three days of insane yumminess. I better start thinking of ways to repurpose the meat….brisket tacos? pork buns? hmmmm…..

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

