Sausage Pepper and Rice Soup

When I took a sample of this soup at HEB, I immediately knew this was going to be my after the family Thankgiving meal. The I cooked way to much a few days ago and is completely drained and have no time to think sort of meal. And of course, the quickest and easiest thing to make tends to be soup. Unless you’re making chowder or something.

Besides, it tasted really good. Only problem is that I ruined it. Like literally ruined it. Bryan liked it, I hated it. What did I do? I added roasted onion and garlic beef broth thinking it could add another dimension of flavor. It quickly turned inedible for me as the garlic undertones permeated the broth with this odd imitation onion thing. It was bad. Really bad. So added flavor broth – JUST DON’T DO IT!!!! Lesson learned. What was I thinking?!?!?!

I hate ruining things.
image

Sausage, Pepper, and Rice Soup

1 package of polish sausage, sliced
1 green pepper, diced
1 red pepper, diced
48 oz beef broth
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cups of cooked rice
2 garlic cloves, chopped

Directions

Cook rice in a rice cooker.

In a skillet, cook sausage with garlic.

Dump into huge pot.

Cook peppers and onions in the skillet until tender.

Dump into huge pot.

Add rice and beef broth. Stir.

Turn heat on and cover until simmering.

Garnish with shaved parmesan if you like.

Makes 6.

Like I said I screwed it up. But the original version tasted amazing. The rice, the veggies and the sausage mixed together perfectly. Add some parmesan cheese to the top of the bowls and it’s heavenly.

Leave a Reply

