OMG I survived my first semester of grad school AND Slow Cooker Thai Coconut Chicken Soup

Yesterday I officially finished my first semester of GRAD SCHOOL, round two.

This past week has been insane. I wrote two 15 paged research papers, I went to practicum orientation which was 9 – 5 and more like common sense than anything, I wrote a case conceptualization, and took two finals.

I was doing great, pacing myself with the two papers. I finished the first one on the 3rd at like 4AM and that was after scraping the first one because I didn’t have enough evidence to support my statements. I was in the middle of reading the 10 research articles for the second paper when I had to go to the orientation.

That’s when the ladies in my class made a bombshell. The final was posted. He posted it the night before and it was due Sunday by 11:59PM. When I went to open the final, I found 27 essays questions staring back at me. 27!!!!! I only had to do 20, but still. Took me 8 hours (I submitted it at 4AM), but I did it and on to the research paper I went. Shadow, was not happy with me that night. I forgot to take my night time so he sat on my lap making it impossible to work on my final until I took my insulin. Got to love that baby man.

I ended up finishing the research paper around 3AM the next day. It was horrible. I hit a brick wall around page 10 an there was no way around it. So I turned it in with 3 pages of content missing.

Sunday I took a day off, and didn’t even look at blackboard or my email.

WORST IDEA EVER.

When I went to download my final, it wasn’t even on blackboard. He had taken the final down. I had missed my final completely. I didn’t even know I had missed it because the due date was the 11th on the syllabus.

Panic attack in 5….4….3…2….wait, let email this girl and see if she can email me the final and I’ll just email it to the prof and beg for forgiveness in hopes that I’ll get a partial grade. Crisis averted. Bryan would be so proud of me not going into full panic meltdown.

When the prof emailed me back, I guess I wasn’t the only one that did that because the final was put back on blackboard and I was able to submit my test.

And that was how this semester ended. 2 finals, 2 15 paged research papers, an orientation, and a case conceptualization all completed in a week.

I think this college is trying to kill me.

But none of that mattered Monday, as I dumped the ingredients in the slow cooker, plugged it in, and turn the dial on high. Let the flavors mingle into tasty goodness over the next 4 hours.

 

image

Slow Cooker Thai Coconut Chicken Soup
3 tablespoons red curry paste
2 12 ounce cans of coconut milk
2 cups chicken stock
2 tablespoons fish sauce
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons peanut butter
1 1/2 pounds chicken breasts, cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces
1 red bell pepper, seeded and sliced into 1/4 inch slices
1 onion, thinly sliced
4 garlic cloves, chopped
1 heaping tablespoon ground ginger
2 coups frozen peas, thawed
1/2 lime, juiced

Directions

Mix the curry paste, coconut milk, chicken stock, fish sauce, brown sugar and peanut butter in a 4-1/2 to 6-quart slow-cooker bowl.

Place the chicken breast, red bell pepper, onion, garlic, and ginger in the slow cooker, cover and cook on HIGH for 4 hours.

Add in the peas and stir in lime juice, cook for 30 minutes longer.

Serve with white rice.

Makes 8. WITH RICE. WITHOUT RICE.

The coco nut milk curdled. I read somewhere that it would, and it did. Does it matter, nope. Why? Still tasted amazing.

This isn’t authentic Thai coconut soup. And I didn’t expect it to be. But it sure as hell tasted yummy.

All the flavors came together creating a soup that smelled like heaven.

I would put more red curry in it if you like more heat to the sweetness of the coconut milk. It wasn’t crazy sweet, it just needed heat to bring the flavor up a notch.

When you pour the broth over the rice the rice absorbs it quickly and takes on those amazing Thai flavors. And then the chunks of chicken fall apart and have a faint coconut milk red curry taste to them.

So if you are in a rush and need to make something where you pretty much dump and are done in soup form, this is your soup.

The flavors are magical.

Leave a Reply

