Rice Cooker Banana Bread

You did read the title right. It says Rice Cooker, not slow cooker. But more of that later.

So Bryan took away my stove to tile. Which he still isn’t done yet because he just will not work on the house during the week. It’s driving me crazy. To make things worse, he’s taken the sink away too. And I will not wash dishes outside in 60 degree weather. Fuck that. So I can’t cook.

So it’s either tv dinners or eating out. My stomach is already screaming, “Why?!?!?!”

Which is also driving me crazy. He better get this shit done this week or I’m going to kill him.

As I was pursing the interwebs, I came across a website that claims you can make all sorts of things in the rice cooker. That’s right. The rice cooker is no longer just for rice, it’s for cabbage rolls and other things. In this case, banana bread.

I had bananas nearly black patiently waiting to be used. I was going to go to my mother in laws but I remembered she’s in Houston with her grandkids or something. So I can’t bake or anything. I want to stab things with plastic knives and snap the tops off. I need to bake or something. I had the longest week last week, I need to do something yummy and constructive with my time off.

Banana bread in the rice cooker it is.

image

Rice Cooker Banana Bread

3 bananas
1/2 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 eggs
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

In a medium bowl, mash bananas and mix with butter and sugar until roughly smooth.

Add vanilla and eggs until well combined.

In a small bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt until thoroughly combined.

Add dry mixture to banana mixture and stir until well combined.

Grease the inside of the rice cooker with cooking spray or butter. Which ever tickles you fancy.

Pour baker into rice cooker and press cook.

Makes 14.

So using my rice cooker was a bitch. It popped off to warm a million times and I had to keep pressing cook every 5 minutes. It was supposed to take 90 minutes to cook using two cooking cycles. But that was obviously not the case with my rice cooker.

Meaning, if you want to check the damn thing every 5 minutes to turn press the lever to cook, then all means be my guess. If not, then DO NOT DO THIS.
JUST DON’T DO IT.

Also the batter is insanely thick. You’re going to look at it and think, “This is not right. This is definitely no where near being right”, but it is.

I was so hoping it would be an awesome life hack and in a way it is, but it’s not worth it.

The possibilities are endless in reality. The bread was actually good and moist and spongy. I was actually surprised. I might add a little more sugar if you want it to be sweeter.

All in all it was a welcomed cooking experiment. Would I do this recipe again, no. Will I try something different, sure why not. I mean, I’ve done a cheesecake in the bloody slow cooker. What will I try next.

One thought on “Rice Cooker Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Banana Nut Bread | The DIABETIC Kitchen

Leave a Reply

