Slow Cooker Bourbon Chicken

Bourbon Chicken.

It’s named after one of the most wildest streets in the country let alone Louisiana and New Orleans. The key ingredient – whiskey.

I’ve always viewed it as mall food. You know, one of the food places in the food court to whose sole purpose is to feed hungry masses of shoppers on a daily basis. And you can hardly ever find this food outside of the mall unless it’s a fast food giant like Wendy’s or Subway, or Taco Bell, or Arby’s or something. The mall I went to all my life that I used to know like the back of my hand, has this place. And they always had those free samples. I would go through the food court eating these free samples. It tasted so yummy. The tanginess, the bourbon, the chicken. So yummy. Pair it with some rice and I would be in heaven.

They don’t have Bourbon Chicken where I live now. It’s sadness. Which means, I have to learn how to make it. Off to the internet I went comparing at least 10 different recipes. One had honey in it. Hmmm….

And then as I was making it, I thought I had picked up the ginger but it turned out it was the cinnamon.

Really Michelle? First the porcupines, now this. Ugh.

I shouldn’t cook during the end of the semester when everything is due. I really shouldn’t. Thank god the stove isn’t plugged in. I might have burned down the house. Bryan probably would have loved that, except we don’t have homeowners insurance on it yet.

I was too tired, and out of ketchup, to remake the sauce. So into the crockpot it went.

image

Slow Cooker Borubon Chicken

2 1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken thighs
1 red onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup ketchup
1/4  cup bourbon
3 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoon water
2 tablespoon cornstarch

Directions

Place chicken thighs in the bottom of slow cooker along with the diced onion.
In a small bowl, stir together the garlic, ginger, brown sugar, ketchup, bourbon, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, red pepper flakes and salt.
Pour the sauce over the chicken and stir to combine.
Set on HIGH and cook for 4 hours, stirring occasionally, if possible.
After the chicken has cooked, stir the chicken to break up any large chunks.
In a small bowl, mix the water and cornstarch until completely dissolved.
Stir the cornstarch mixture into the chicken and mix thoroughly.
Allow the cornstarch to cook in the slow cooker for about 15 minutes or until the sauce is nicely thickened.
Makes 8.
You couldn’t taste the cinnamon.
It was tangy. It was sweet. It was succulent.
Taste just as good as the food place at the mall.
And it pairs perfectly with the rice. Although I did wish I had bread to make a sandwich. Maybe next time.
Bryan gobbled it up.
Leave a Reply

