Banana Nut Bread

A few weeks ago, I made banana bread in a rice cooker. You can read about it here.

I’ve made banana nut bread a ton of times. Bryan hearts it. And I always have to use chopped walnuts.

Before I made it this time, I looked in the cookbook called A Modern Family Cookbook written in the 1950’s to 1960’s. My edition is 1964, I believe. Bryan’s grandmother passed it down to his mother and it’s one of those precious items that could cause a feud in his family when his parent’s died. So I went on etsy and bought my own. I was so excited over this cookbook, it wasn’t even funny. Bryan remembers this cookbook used throughout his childhood and as a good wife, I want to be able to cook foods he knows.

So I figured there would be a banana nut bread recipe.

But there wasn’t. Much to my horror. Banana nut bread raised to popularity in the 1950’s so why isn’t it this old ass cookbook?

Oh, well.

Banana bread wasn’t a must in my household growing up but it was at a friend’s house. I swear the mother would wait until the near rotten bananas were on sale and then buy the whole lot of them just to make banana bread. And the oddest thing was that they were German, so for the longest time I thought this bread was a German thing. Then I found out it was more of a Southern thing from Bryan (Although he is also of German descent). Sweet tea and Banana nut bread, two main staples of the South and despite living in Texas, I had no clue.

One thing one must know about this recipe is that it needs to be cooked for longer than the recipe stated. I baked it for an hour and the middle fell out of it. So I put it back in the oven and cooked it for an extra hour. Banana nut bread should not take 2 bloody hours to cook. It shouldn’t. So just a head’s up. Cook it longer.

Also, it is important that you walnuts. Not pecans or any other nut, but walnuts. There’s something about the combination of bananas and walnuts that is down right magical.

banananut

Banana Nut Bread

3 ripe bananas, the brown/blackish, the better
1/3 cup melted butter
1/2 cup of sugar
2 egg, beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
1/2 cup walnuts

Directions

Mash bananas in a medium bowl

Mix in the baking soda and salt and flour in a separate bowl.

Stir in the sugar, beaten egg, and vanilla extract with the mashed bananas.

Mix in the flour mixture with bananas until well combined.

Fold in walnuts

Pour the batter into a loaf pan sprayed with cooking spray.

If you have walnuts left over, sprinkle it on top.

Bake at 350°F for 1 hour.

Makes 12.

This is one of the most moist banana bread recipes I have ever made.

It made the whole house smell divine while baking.

This is technically my fourth time making banana nut bread. The first time being in the second apartments, Bryan and I lived in. The second time, I made amazing banana nut bread muffins out of it. Then the rice cooker experiment. And now today.

Am I a pro at this? Nope. Hell, I’m amazed it was able to rise the second time I put it in the damn oven.

I did cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup from 1 cup. If your bananas are black, there is no need to add extra sugar. The sugar in this case is more of a binding agent than anything else.

I do admit I liked the extra crunch from adding the walnut as a topping this time. I’ve done a sugar toping and a brushed brown sugar topping before. Also, this is the first time I’ve solely used white sugar. In the past it’s been brown sugar or a blend of the two.

Which means I’m going to have to do a brown vs white vs a blend bake off one of these days to declare which sugar reigns supreme when it comes to banana nut bread. It will be epic.

The great thing about banana nut bread is that it’s suitable as a snack, part of brunch, breakfast and incorporated in desserts. Quite a versatile sweet bread. And it never lasts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

