To my readers –

Earlier this week I started a blogging workshop and my assignment for today is all about writing to my dream reader.

It made me start thinking about who I really want to entice into reading my blog. There are so many food blogs out there, its not even funny. I was also supposed to add a picture or something, but I already add pictures, links to previous posts and a few how to videos of life hacks primarily involving eggs. The poached egg one is by far my favorite thus far.

So who exactly is my dream reader. The people I primarily think about when writing this posts. Honestly, I think of everyone. I think of the type 2 diabetic wanting to eat healthy. The type 1 diabetic who is tired of boiled chicken and potatoes. The newly diagnosed diabetics who have no clue what they can eat and are crying daily because they feel they are starving. The mother’s out there who are scared their family might end up a type 2 family and is looking for ways to prevent it from happening. And the people out there who want to be healthy in general but don’t know where to start.

So I guess my dream reader is anyone who is trying to be healthy and understands that being healthy is eating in moderation. You don’t have to change your whole diet to achieve this and usually when people do that, they tend to fall off the bandwagon and go back to their bad eating habits. If you change your diet one step at a time, changing one thing like eating more vegetables a day, and doing that step until you feel it is fully incorporated into your everyday life before going on to the next step, you will be more likely to achieve. And then a year later you will bask in the glory of knowing you achieved what you set out to do. However, a healthy lifestyle doesn’t mean sacrificing cake, donuts, brownies, and other sweets. It just means, make it homemade and don’t eat the whole cake in one sitting. I have more control of my sugar cravings since I started baking my own sweets. And knowing that I can cut half the sugar out and the sweet baked confection still tastes amazing helps me focus on my numbers more instead of telling myself I can’t eat this, that, or the other.

This blog is a food blog, yes. But it is also a tool to help you understand portion control. The servings I write are normal servings not modern day servings. I like to call them diabetic servings, but they aren’t, they are the actual size of what people should be eating, which I have stressed here.

So if you feel this is you, I hope you will read my blog. Because I’m not only writing it for me, I’m also writing it for you. For those who want or have to change their eating habits in order to live. And for those who struggle during their lifestyle and need some guidance or inspiration. Because it’s hard. It really is. And I get it. And I want you to know that I get it.

 

9 thoughts on “To my readers –

Leave a Reply

