Strawberry Dump Cake

Late at night, infomercials come alive taking over every publicly broadcast channel known to man offering the most ludicrous products. The aero knife that boasts how it doesn’t have a serrated edge but upon closer look, it does. The my pillow, a pillow perfect for you. The collapsible hose. The veggie chopper. And so on and so on.

One night, the dump cake and dump meals infomercial was on and Bryan was all about it. He’s reasoning, which makes sense, is the nights that I have school and he has to cook would be perfect for using the cookbook. I was going to make it where we eat leftovers on those days, but if he actually wants to cook, who am I to stop him.

I also know that if I wait a few weeks, these seen on TV products will be in HEB, Walmart and pretty much every retail home good store in America. And what do you know? I found the dump cake book in a Bed, Bath, and Beyond.

It’s an interesting little book. Most of the recipes use cake mix boxes, butter, canned or frozen fruit, pie filling and maybe a nut of some kind. A few of them use gelatin. Then there’s a section of actual ingredients, but it’s quite short.

I decided I might do one dump cake a week just to see what if it’s too my liking. However, I’ll be making my own pie filling, use fresh fruit, and make my own cake mix. After all, this is a diabetic food blog and primarily about taking control over what you put in your mouth.
image

Strawberry Dump Cake

3 cups strawberries, sliced
1 envelope of strawberry Jell-O (3 oz)
1 yellow cake mix
1/3 cup water
6 tablespoon butter, cut into thin slices

Directions

Spray a 9X9 square baking dish with cooking spray.

Spread strawberries at the bottom of the dish.

Sprinkle the Jell-O evenly on top of the strawberries.

Spread cake mix evenly over Jell-O and strawberries.

Place thinly slice butter over the mix, covering as much of the mix as possible with the butter.

Drizzle water over the whole thing.

Bake at 350 for 40 minutes.

Makes 12.

This was amazing. It tastes amazing. I wanted to eat the whole thing.

I have no clue how this bloody cake works though. I am assuming the fluid from the strawberries as they bake creates the Jell-O. The butter, water, and Jell-O creates the cake part of the it as it bakes.

Yeah.

It’s amazing.

And it’s one of those quick things you can put together if you’re in a pinch. Surprised dinner guess? No problem. Just put it together and pop it in the oven while everyone eats and you’ll have a nice and warm dessert when everyone is ready for the last course. Of course it isn’t that elegant, but hey, I’ll take this over nothing any day.

Leave a comment