Corn Saute

What’s better than corn or bacon? Corn with bacon and sautéed onions. And red peppers.

Originally there was some paprika but I couldn’t find it even though I know we have some somewhere. There was also supposed to be a jalapeno pepper, but I really didn’t feel like having a kick of heat today.

So If you want some heat, just add a chopped deseeded jalapeno pepper in it and you’re go to go.

image

Corn Sauté
4 slices of bacon
5 ears of corn kernels removed from the cob
1/2 onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, chopped
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

Directions

Cook bacon in a skillet under medium heat until crunchy.

Place bacon on top of some paper towels to absorb extra fat and then crumble the bacon with your hands.

Sauté corn, red peppers, and onions in the bacon drippings.

When vegetables are tender, add bacon and mix until well combined.

Cook for two more minutes.

Makes 8. Calories: 75, Carbohydrates: 12 grams, Sugar: 2 grams, Fiber: 2 gram, Protein: 3 grams.

I absolutely loved this. Bryan, however, did not. Turns out you don’t mess with corn. I think it was the red peppers he was against.

If you don’t like red peppers, don’t include them. It’ll still taste amazing.

I would eat the whole skillet filled with the corn if I could. But I can’t and the little non-diabetic girl inside me is all, “Come on Michelle, you know you want to.” She’s evil like that. She tries to entice me with cookies and cake and milkshakes. Most of the time I can say no, but every now and then I have to give in. Chocolate covered strawberry milkshakes was the last time I ceded to her evil evil ways.

I still love this though.

Leave a comment